RIP Chris

So I haven’t posted on the blog in 2 months now. I have thought about it – there’s actually a bunch of stuff I’ve wanted to write about, like installing a Telkom landline (something I said I would need to swallow my pride to do), the 5 kittens we adopted (perhaps a post series is required for that), an update on my budgies, some movie reviews, how much I want to be friends with Keanu Reeves etc…

I haven’t done any of that though. But today, as I prepare for the memorial of a dear colleague, I’ve been thinking. Over the last few months, I’ve been steadily growing my FOC. I’ve been reconnecting with people who I thought were gone from my life. I’ve been redefining my relationships with others.

Since my return to Aurecon, I’ve been going through this process with my former colleagues. I’m at various stages in the process with all of them.

I’m not one for hyperbole (about people at least), but Chris was the most chilled guy around. No matter how hectic things got on projects (all the time, for every single project), he’d be like “Oh well” and get down to work. When I was losing weight during my epic revamp (the first time around), I would chat with Chris frequently about my boxing regimen. He would give me advice about techniques (he used to box at a club) and methods to maximise my calorie burn during an exercise session. I incorporated his tips into my routine when I was stuck in a plateau, and it made a big difference.

He was always willing to teach, and was always so patient – when I was starting to dabble in web development, he showed me a few things (before I went (temporarily) down a different path). After his baba was born, he’d deliver me regular photo updates, because that baby is soooo beautiful. He also got me into rap music (for a little while anyway). I’ve since compromised by no longer just putting it off, and listening to loads of EDM rap mixes.

He will be missed.

 

Leave a Reply

