This is the one: Cloud storage edition (rollback)

After thinking I only had to rant about OneDrive for Business, it saddens me to have to rant about OneDrive as well. Yesterday, Microsoft did something weird. Since my exams are finished, I’ve been going through my to-do list and preparing for the various tasks I have up ahead.

One of those tasks is to sort out my home network. Again. For real this time. One of my strategies was going to be to use my 10TB of OneDrive storage as remote backup for all the devices that my family owns. I’d achieve this by running SyncToy as a scheduled task on their devices, or using FreeFileSync to write their backup files to my server, which uses a local Windows account linked to my OneDrive.

Those rough plans are clearly out of the window now.

No more unlimited storage. Office 365 Home, Personal, and University subscribers will no longer be offered unlimited storage. Instead, those subscriptions will include 1 TB of OneDrive storage.

All the more reason now to roll my own cloud, and maybe, finally, set up my own VPS somewhere. What I don’t understand about this whole mess is reducing the amount of free storage from 15GB to 5GB. What does that have to do with those few users who had 75TB???

One thought on “This is the one: Cloud storage edition (rollback)

  1. Pingback: This is the one: Cloud storage edition #2 (debate) | Overthinking.

Leave a Reply

