This is the one: Cloud storage edition (review)

I could go into an in-depth review of the advantages and disadvantages of OneDrive over other cloud storage options. It certainly is not perfect – last week I was desperately looking for some documents which I was positive I had put on OneDrive. After searching high and low, I remembered I had placed a physical backup of my offline synced OneDrive folder onto my backup hard drive.

When I checked the drive, I saw I had deleted the folder after copying it back onto my laptop and synced. A disk recovery showed me that the files had been there, but were now unrecoverable from the hard drive. I then realised that I had copied the folder, thought OneDrive had finished syncing, deleted my physical copy, then disconnected the OneDrive app from the laptop (Windows 7) and reconnected it during one of my computer cleaning frenzies. So having no file version history like Dropbox – bummer.

On the other hand, I’m just going to go ahead and leave this here:

How you like them Apples

2 thoughts on “This is the one: Cloud storage edition (review)

  1. Pingback: SyncToy: Why did it take me so long to find you? | Overthinking.

  2. Pingback: This is the one: Cloud storage edition #2 (debate) | Overthinking.

Leave a Reply

