This is the one: digital ecosystem edition (decision)

Two and a half years ago, I had a decision to make. I’d had a Gmail account for 3 years, and all my personal email came through there. After working for a year, I had some business stuff in there as well, along with some financial accounts tied to it, but not much.

I had been toying with the idea of “the cloud” and all that nonsense for a little while, but I didn’t want to give more of my data to Google, and since I wasn’t keen on Android, it didn’t make sense.

Things were still a bit disconnected in that space. Most people I knew had a Dropbox account, something which I had avoided getting due to my paranoia. I also didn’t want a separate account for my stuff. So it was at this time, when I was trying to get my act together, that Microsoft announced Outlook.com, transitioning from Hotmail.

Hotmail

I hadn’t even considered the Microsoft ecosystem, which was more of a bunch of separate services trying to link together. I then thought, oh well, clean slate? I signed up for a new account (the same username as my Gmail, natch).

At the time, it was more about getting an email address, with a smattering of SkyDrive to ease me into this cloud story.

5 thoughts on “This is the one: digital ecosystem edition (decision)

  1. Pingback: I’ve somehow ended up with too many Windows licences | Overthinking.

  2. Pingback: This is the one: Cloud storage edition (decision) | Overthinking.

  3. Pingback: This is the one: password manager edition (decision) | Overthinking.

  4. Pingback: Apps I can’t live without: Pushbullet | Overthinking.

  5. Pingback: This is the one: Cloud storage edition #2 (debate) | Overthinking.

Leave a Reply

